Return to this year's Diefenbooker Classic website

Hosted by the Ottawa Public Library Foundation

For runners, walkers and cyclists of all ages

This annual community event in West Carleton has once again been a resounding success, despite the poor weather conditions. A total of 414 registrants came together in Carp on Saturday May 6th, and raised a grand total of $14,768 towards the local branches of the Ottawa Public Library as well as the Carp Splash Pad. This event has now raised a total of over $100,000 in its 10-year life.
Many thanks to our title sponsor, the West Carleton Medical-Dental Centre and West Carleton Physiotherapy and Sports Injury Clinic, who have returned every year to lead the charge. Also many thanks to our major sponsors, including Sports4 / New Balance, Nelson Water Systems and Waste Management, all of whom support us year after year. A complete list of our many other sponsors will be shown on the Diefenbooker website.
The success of the Diefenbooker Classic is brought about by the willing participants and dedicated volunteers who have returned for many years to help. Many thanks to you, and to the OPL staff who continue to support the event!
Below is a list of the medal winners. To those who were not able to remain at the awards ceremony to receive your medal, please contact the Race Director, or pick up your award at the Carp Library. Congratulations to all!
The Diefenbooker Classic Steering Committee

Our local celebrity emcee for the event,
Raymond Grassi, 2006 gold medalist at the Paralympic games in Turin.
And they're off!.
Click here for more race photos

Pledge winners:
  • Winner of the one-year all-inclusive membership at the Kanata YM/YWCA, for highest pledge earnings: Julia Cheeseman.
  • Runner-up pledge earner who won the barbecue donated by DEKA Home Building Centre: Mary Porritt

5 km cycle winners:
 1st – Allison Downing, 2nd - Andrew Oswald, 3rd – Debbie Cline

14 km cycle winners:
 1st – Kim Hall, 2nd – Greg Harrington, 3rd - Diana Briggs-Deschamps

28 km cycle winners:
 1st – Andrew Labenek, 2nd – Leanne Ashworth, 3rd – Laurie Ashworth

Loonie Loop run winners:
 6 years old: 1st – Reilly Wacyk, 2nd – Nora Thompson, 3rd – Talitha Benson
 5 years old: 1st – Deana Freemont, 2nd – Nathaniel Benson, 3rd - Nick Arnot
 3 years old: 1st – Tim Benson, 2nd – Molly Stewart

1 km race winners (12 years and under):
 Girls: 1st – Brittany Burns, 2nd – Julia Buckley, 3rd – Caitlin Lazaruko
 Boys: 1st – Joshua White, 2nd – Dylan Downes, 3rd - Alec Tarvic

5 km walk winners:
 Women: 1st – Arlene Collings, 2nd – Allison Klingbyle, 3rd – Kim Montgomery
 Men: 1st – John Forster, 2nd – Arland Benn, 3rd – Elwood Johnston
            (Rumour has it that Mr.Benn is 80 years old – Well done sir!)

5 km run winners - Women:
 Overall: 1st – Aileen Nutt, 2nd – Martha Palmer, 3rd – Joanna Brown
 Under 20: 1st – Jade Gregory
 Age 20-29: 1st – Sharon Norman
 Age 30-39: 1st – Cara Lispett
 Age 40-49: 1st – Brenda Davies
 Age 50-59: 1st – Theresa Peluso

5 km run winners – Men:
 Overall: 1st – Harold Walker, 2nd – Larry McClosky, 3rd – Jason McLean
 Under 20: 1st – Ben Brzezynski
 Age 20-29: 1st - John Ruddy
 Age 30-39: 1st - Rob Thomas
 Age 40-49: 1st – David Williams
 Age 50-59: 1st – Donald Mann
 Age 60 + 1st – Bill Murphy

10 km run winners – Women:
 Overall: 1st – Anne Murphy, 2nd – Tara Archibald, 3rd – Heather Adeney
 Under 20: 1st – Stephanie Lalonde
 Age 20-29: 1st – Harmony Church
 Age 30-39: 1st – Kelly Geddis
 Age 40-49: 1st - Ann Beaulieu
 Age 50-59: 1st – Jane Armstrong
 Age 60 + 1st – Roseanne Wilson

10 km run winners – Men:
 Overall: 1st – Glenn Cheney, 2nd – Brent Jarvis, 3rd – Eric Edora
 Under 20: 1st – Chris Anderson
 Age 20-29: 1st – Matt Archibald
 Age 30-39: 1st – John Topping
 Age 40-49: 1st – Mark Wigmore
 Age 50-59: 1st – Bill Kane
 Age 60 + 1st – Bernie Gorman

Click the following links for detailed results of the
            5 Km Walk, 5 Km Run and 10Km Run.


O.P.L. purchases using Diefenbooker Classic funds
since race inception in 1996 include the following:

  • Computer tables and chairs - Carp, Constance Bay, Fitzroy Harbour
  • Children's department shelving - Carp
  • Storage cupboards - Carp
  • Audio-visual equipment: TV, VCR, projector - portable
  • Circulation desks - Constance Bay, Fitzroy Harbour
  • Music CD's startup collection - all 3 branches
  • Audio-visual and CD shelving, CD storage bins - all 3 branches
  • Children's videos - Constance Bay, Fitzroy Harbour
  • Magazine display units - Constance Bay, Fitzroy Harbour
  • Pamphlet display units - all 3 branches
  • Children's AV display units - Carp
  • Study table and chair - Fitzroy Harbour
  • Children's area carpets - Constance Bay, Fitzroy Harbour
  • Microfilm reader and printer - Carp
  • Interior signage - all 3 branches
  • Exterior signage - all 3 branches
  • Laptop computer and LCD projector - portable
  • Gardens at Carp - phase 1 (1998), phase 2 (2005), phase 3 (2006)

The Diefenbooker Classic Steering Committee
wishes to say

*** THANKS to our SPONSORS ***

Title sponsors:

West Carleton Medical-Dental Centre
West Carleton Physiotherapy and Sports Injury Clinic

Major sponsors:

Sports4 / New Balance
Nelson Water Systems
Waste Management

Participating sponsors:

Carp Agricultural Society
Deka Home Building Centre
Water & Earth Sciences
West Carleton Weekender

Contributing sponsors:

Karson's Kartage & Konstruction
Myomax Performance Personal Training
Richard Snapper
West Carleton Drug Store


Barb Rivoire
Brown's Your Independent Grocer, Stittsville Carp
Country Flooring
Carp Pizza
Carp Video
Diefenbunker - Canada’s Cold War Museum
Dunrobin Veterinary Clinic
Dunrobin Village Meat Co. Ltd.
Heart and Soul Restaurant
Irish Hills Golf & Country Club
Loblaws - Kanata Centrum
Melodie Rochon
Sammy's Pizzeria
The Swan at Carp
Tails & Trails Country Pet Resort
Weedmark Service Centre
West Carleton Boarding Kennel

And thanks also to the Canadian Health Network for providing door prizes